Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-13-2003

jcrief is on a distinguished road
What size first boat?

I have been sailing for a short time (since this (2003) spring) on the west coast (Santa Barbara) and I''m thinking about buying my first boat. However, I''m not sure what size to look for!

I want a boat to get more experience, weekend excursions to the Channel Islands, and possibly for a liveaboard (although this is a "nice to have" not a "need to have").

Sailing in this area is primarily in the ocean so I want something fairly safe and sea kindly. I started out looking at boats under 30'' but was told that I should consider something larger (36'') as I would quickly grow out of the smaller boat.

Some of my preferred features that were making small boat shopping difficult were:
- 6 foot headroom (I''m 6''1"!)
- inboard diesel
- wheel steering
- galley w/pressurized water & propane stove
- head w/shower & holding tank
- ability to single hand

Any and all thoughts on this topic are appreciated!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 08-13-2003

GordMay is on a distinguished road
What size first boat?

It may have been N. Hereshoff who said that, "anyone who absolutely must stand upright on a boat, can go on deck".
Interior headroom > 6'', is tough - but your other specifications readily available on under 30 Footers.
Good luck,
Gord
Old 08-13-2003

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about
What size first boat?