Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-16-2003

NbyNW is on a distinguished road
Scandanavian Opportunity

I am new to sailing and in the middle of a 5 year post outside Stockholm, Sweden. Am working on getting started in sailing and sailing with friends, chartering, etc. but eventually want to buy a boat here and bring it back to the states where I would sail in new england.
I would like to take advantage of the fact I am here and get something that is unique to this part of the world but would last my family (wife and 2 small kids) the next 15 - 20 years.
Could maybe spend low 6 figures and might even try and do something stupid like recruit some more experienced guys to sail it home.
Thoughts on how to approach this? I should add I am not a complete landlubber as I have windsurfed for 20 years offshore cape hatteras, maui, etc. so I know a bit of sailing tiny rigs in big water, but recognize there is a lot to learn with a boat.
Advice appreciated.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-18-2003

namaste04 is on a distinguished road
Scandanavian Opportunity

It''s probably hard for any here to help you: mostly USA sailors here. Although my brother lives in Oslo (in fact my Dad''s boat is there now, for sale!) and I have visited, I don''t know what Scandinavia is like in terms of sailing clubs, etc. Normally if you were here you''d join a yacht- or sailing-club and volunteer crew in races and get invited cruising: that would be experience-building. I do know that you can get some fabulous, fast, well-built Scandinavian and English boats over there for a good deal that would be perfect to sail trans-Atlantic.

Why not look around for a club? Scandinavia has some amazing cruising grounds: a gorgeous place to learn.

Stacey
www.sailnamaste.com
Old 08-21-2003

NbyNW is on a distinguished road
Scandanavian Opportunity