Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2011

ChuckBuck is on a distinguished road
Is there a TRUE cruiser/racer for the Great Lakes?

Hi Folks,

I hope you are all doing great, and that you are enjoying this Labor day long weekend.

Without opening the Beneteau / Catalina / Hunter debate, I am wondering if I can get some advice on my next boat.

I have been sailing for 35 years now, and owned several boats in the past (a 1979 J 24, 1977 Catalina 22, 1976 Catalina 25 and a 1979 C&C 29). The bulk of my sailing is on the great lakes.

I have reciently sold the C&C 29 and am looking at getting something bigger for next season. I have a slip in Chicago that can take up to a 42 foot boat, but I'd prefer to stay closer to the mid 30 foot range. I've got a budget of $60,000 USD that I'd like to stick to.

Boat usage:
1) The racer side - I do lots of solo sailing and am looking to do more solo racing on the great lakes. I'm not needing a true race boat, but also don't want others doing circles around me.
2) The cruiser side - I entertain frequently (day sails) and would like a comfortable cockpit for 6 guests. I also would like something that I can comfortably cruise on for 10-15 days at a time with 1-2 crew.

So, a true cruiser / racer is what I'm looking for - does it exist? and even more, does it exist within my $60K budget?

Boats that really interest me are the C&C 99, 110, and 115 (But they are WAY out of my budget) the Beneteau 35s5 (1990), the Hunter Legend 37 (1989), and various Catalinas.

Does anyone have experience with these boats or have suggestions for a true cruiser / racer yacht?

Many Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Chuck Buck

Last edited by ChuckBuck; 09-11-2011 at 11:51 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 09-04-2011
Water Lover