Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By SloopJonB

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2011

KnottyGurl is on a distinguished road
Samson 32

I am going to see a Samson 32 this week, I have done search's on it but info is limited, does anyone know the boat or sailed on one similar, looking for feedback on handling, seaworthiness/bluewaterness, and general info
thanks in advance
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-08-2011

An update, I have been told it is much like a Westsail 32, this being the case I have no experience with this type of boat and would like to hear your views and knowledge about how she handles and so forth
Old 09-08-2011

sailor50 is on a distinguished road
Is this a ferro cement hulled vessel?
Old 09-09-2011

yes, it is ferro cement, going up to look at it and check it out. The added space would be great from a 26ft and hopefully the specs and boat are in good condition. Just trying to get more info on the boat and what to look for
Old 09-10-2011
Senior Moment Member

SloopJonB will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by KnottyGurl View Post
I am going to see a Samson 32 this week, I have done search's on it but info is limited, does anyone know the boat or sailed on one similar, looking for feedback on handling, seaworthiness/bluewaterness, and general info
thanks in advance
I have no experience sailing one of these but I dug out an old Samson Marine Design book I obtained when John Samson was building ferro boats in Richmond. The spec's on the C-Mist are;

LOA - 32'2"
LWL - 27'6"
Beam - 11'2"
Draft - 5'0"
Headroom - 6'0"
S/A - Gaff Cutter Rig - 561'
Marconi Cutter Rig - 608'
Disp - 19,300Lbs
The bowsprit is 12'3" long