Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-20-2011

White Beard is on a distinguished road
Offshore Pilothouse?

Hello, This is my first time to this forum; hope I am doing this correctly. I am looking for recommendations for a Pilothouse sailboat with a dual helm (internal + cockpit), shoal draft, large (Queen or King) inline center berth (not std v-berth) + 1 good sea-berth in the Pilothouse and the ability to both both motor and sail well. This would be a retirement boat for my wife and myself, initial intent is coastal and ICW with eventual offshore sailing. I am a recreational sailor and have sailed the Great Lakes extensively but we would like to eventually sail the world full-time. I am less concerned with a large galley, settees, multiple heads, extra berths, more concerned with high quality, low maintenance. I am more concerned with seaworthiness and comfort than with speed, although it would be nice to be able to sail well downwind with a symmetrical spinnaker. Critically important is a comfortable internal helm and draft in the 3-4.5' range. We would consider anything from full keel to centerboard; aluminum, steel or fiberglass, 32-50', and any price range from up to $75,000 (the lower the better, to allow more $ for refit...) I also like clipper bows and canoe sterns. Does this boat exist?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 09-20-2011
A mod and her dragon

DRFerron is on a distinguished road
(Google searches Sailnet posts better than Sailnet!)

This pilothouse thread didn't start out specifically about going offshore, but it contains a lot of good information.

And welcome to Sailnet!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Catalina 30 TRFK

Contributing Editor
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
magazine