Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2011

boat<3 is on a distinguished road
newbie asking about brokering fees :]

hello! :]

i'm new to sailnet, and i was hoping to get some help with a few questions. could anyone tell me what a standard brokerage commission is? for example, would 15% of the price be a normal rate? also, i've heard that some brokers charge a success fee, and i wonder whether this is normal since most brokers already ask for a commission?

also, do these charges normally apply to charters of boats too?

thanks! :]
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-14-2011

Peas is on a distinguished road
Around here (Southern Ontario, Canada), its 10% when it sells.
Old 10-14-2011
Learning the HARD way...

eherlihy will become famous soon enough
Same along the east coast of the US.

The seller pays the broker 10% of the final negotiated price. That way the broker is motivated to keep the price up, and move the boat.

I don't know nuthin' about charters though...
Old 10-14-2011
Bombay Explorer 44

TQA is on a distinguished road
Remember it is NEGOTIABLE.

Sure the broker will say no at first; but if you have a popular boat valued at say 200k on offer at price that should allow it to sell in a short space of time and the boat will show well then you should get better terms. maybe even as low as 5%.

But if it is a 30 ft ferro s**t box valued at 20k in Florida and draws 7 feet you may find it hard to get a broker to take it on.
Old 10-14-2011

JimsCAL is on a distinguished road
Yes 10% is normal, but some will charge a flat fee for boats under $20,000.
Old 10-14-2011

Thanks so much for your help guys! :] Do you know if the same 10% or so should apply for charters? Also, is a success fee for successful brokerage common?
Old 10-14-2011
ASA and PSIA Instructor

sailingfool will become famous soon enough