Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-21-2011

Ideagolfer is on a distinguished road
Choices,choices

Hello all,i'm new to Sailnet. I currently have a Hobie 16 which i've sailed for a couple years but am looking to buy a small cruiser. To start,what i'm looking for is something simple,tiller steer,outboard,fixed keel. I have a couple boats in mind,one is a Pearson 26 the other is a Grampian 26. There's a couple of both for sale currently in NC. I've researched both,the Pearson on Dan Pfeiffer's page and the Grampian on the Grampian site and really like both designs. Good things have been said about both. I'm leaning toward the Grampian because of the 6'0'' headroom because i'm 5'11'' tall. But I don't plan to live aboard,race,or sail around the world in it,just weekenders to the OBX and day sails. I guess what I'm really asking is which would be a better starter boat? Or is there a better choice I have missed?

Last edited by Ideagolfer; 10-21-2011 at 12:21 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-21-2011

BarryL is on a distinguished road
Hello,

There are lots and lots of gold old boats in the 25' - 28' range. IMHO, they are all mostly the same. At the age of the boats you are looking at, the biggest determining factor in the boats condition will be care and love (or not) it received.

Some common manufactures include O'day, Catalina, S2, Irwin, Hunter, Tartan, Cal and on and on. Catalina 27 would be a great choice.

I would suggest going to a few local marinas and walking around looking at boats. You might even find a few for sale signs.

Good luck
Barry

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 10-21-2011

Ideagolfer is on a distinguished road