Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2011
C&C 32

smp is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to smp
All things being equal...

I currently own a Mirage 24 and would like to upsize so that my girlfriend and I can cruise Lake Ontario in the summers. I'm 33 in a week and I've been sailing for three years. Also, the Mirage needs work (as all boats do) and I would rather sink my money into a longer term boat than one I am planning to part with. I guess there is no such thing as a "forever" boat but I would like the next one to last. That being said, I'm not quite sure I want to step up to the maintenance and upkeep of a 32 foot boat but my options are like so:

C&C 27
Mirage 27 (Schmitt)
C&C 30
CS 27 (kind of "porky" looking but the interior and build quality are top notch)
C&C 32

So far the C&Cs I've looked at have been in need of attention, well used, old boats. I have yet to check out the 32 but purely based on the pictures and what the broker has told me on the phone it sounds clean, so lets assume for this conversation that this is the case. The price is right as well, though at the top of my budget. I know the C&C 30 is a more popular boat but they are getting old too, the ones I've seen have been 'used up' for lack of better language. The 32 is an 80 with some of the features found on 80's boats like a quarter birth, toe rail mounted stanchions, more plastic in the interior (whether or not this is a feature is subjective) .. and in general seems like a fresher design. I know it's not the fastest, that's ok, it's not a heavyweight full keel ocean cruiser either. I think it's a pretty boat and it's "big".