Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By PalmettoSailor

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-04-2012

ChuckBuck is on a distinguished road
1994 Catalina 320 vs 1992 Catalina 36

Hi Folks,

Happy New Year! I hope you all had a great Holiday.

I'm looking at two Catalina's - both around the same price, both in similar condition. Anyone have any advice / additional info to share.

I reckon you get more boat for your buck with the 1992 Catalina 36, but the 1994 Catalina 32 is a more modern design and might hold its resale value better...but again, this is just an in-going assumption - I dont have any facts to back this up.

Any insights into how these two might match up sailing wise? I was interested to see that they have similar PERF ratings (despite the size difference).

Any pros and cons would be greatly appreciated.

All the Best!!

Chuck
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-04-2012

sydney_newbie is on a distinguished road
Newbie here who's de-lurking I'm an Australian (Sydneysider) who was living in SF for the last couple of years and I did the Bareboat Charter course at OCSC sailing on SF bay earlier last year.

Interestingly enough they had a fleet of Catalina 320s and Catalina 36 on which they taught that course so I got to spend full 3.5 weekends sailing them. If I was given the choice, for the same money I'd take the 36 any day based on my 2 points below...

The biggest difference in the 2 boats is the interior space - the 36 was altogether a much more comfortable boat and felt a full size up from the 320. We overnighted with 4 guys on board and I don't think I would've wanted to try that on the 320 because the 320 saloon feels so cramped. There's not much in the measurements in overall beam but the 36 carries that beam much further forward and puts it to good use. The 320 feels like an oversized day-sailer, hope I'm not offending anyone here.