Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree2Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2012

Lasivian is on a distinguished road
Advice please - 30' Rawson Sloop

Ok, first the general details. I'm looking for a liveboard boat that will last me 20 years at least if not more which can safely be sailed around the world. (I have zero sailing experience, but I've been around boats quite a bit, I know I've got years of learning before I do a blue-water passage) I'm hoping I can use it as an easy way to sail to where I might find work, yeah, I know it's a risk but I figure it's less of one that moving on land.

I'm single but I'd like space for a friend perhaps so I've settled on 30', and I like the stability and reviews of the Rawson, if anyone has other suggestions I'm listening.

I like to repair and build things, but I'm not looking to do major repairs to my first boat. I have about 20k to put towards "the boat" in buying and outfitting at this point, wish I had more but if I think that way I'll probably never make the plunge, heh.

This one happens to be right up the road from me:

1964 Rawson Sloop Sail Boat For Sale - www.yachtworld.com

I'm curious if anyone sees any red flags there (IE. what looks bad or missing), or can point me to a good boat-buyers-checklist.

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 04-24-2012
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
Re: Advice please - 30' Rawson Sloop

Interesting set of photos.. some new gear, some obviously not so new.

New rig, that's a plus.. newish engine too, another plus. the cabin heater is a throw-away but with a diesel stove like that you'll rarely need the heater anyway.