Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree7Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2012
Max Hax

blistovmhz is on a distinguished road
Terrifying Spencer 42' - Should I buy?

I'm looking for a liveaboard that may eventually do some bluewater. I have two adults (I'm 6'5" and the lady is tiny) and 4 cats. I'm new to boats so I don't really know what size I should be looking at.

At any rate, I've found a Spencer 42' for sale. Currently posted at $15,000 CAD, but it'll come down soon as the owner is leaving the country in three weeks so he'll take whatever he can get for it. I doubt it'll sell if I don't take it. The pictures immediately make me feel like i'm about to be raped and/or murdered and probably also eaten.
Can view here: https://docs.google.com/open?id=1l99...M1FNtTfunsq_Yt

I don't know what this guy was thinking. He apparently takes his kids out sailing every weekend on this thing, but it looks like it's mostly been used to store bodies.

At any rate, I've heard these hulls are bulletproof and capable bluewater vessels. i'd have to redo the entire interior so I'd be talking him down to $5-$10k before I even considered buying it.

Thoughts on scary boat?
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 06-29-2012
Senior Moment Member

SloopJonB will become famous soon enough
Re: Terrifying Spencer 42' - Should I buy?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blistovmhz View Post
I'm looking for a liveaboard that may eventually do some bluewater. I have two adults (I'm 6'5" and the lady is tiny) and 4 cats. I'm new to boats so I don't really know what size I should be looking at.

At any rate, I've found a Spencer 42' for sale. Currently posted at $15,000 CAD, but it'll come down soon as the owner is leaving the country in three weeks so he'll take whatever he can get for it. I doubt it'll sell if I don't take it. The pictures immediately make me feel like i'm about to be raped and/or murdered and probably also eaten.