Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-20-2004

cnjrojas is on a distinguished road
Best cruising boat (24 feet or less)

My husband and I have some sailing experience. We sailed J-27s several years back when we belonged to a yacht club. Here we are five years later with two small children. We just got a slip on a small lake. Boats must be 24 feet or less. We are looking with something that could sleep two people in case we want to do some weekend coastal cruising. Any recommendations as to the best sailboat manufacturers for boats about 24 feet? Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-20-2004

Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about Jeff_H has a spectacular aura about

If you are on a lake you should probably focus on boats that offer reasonably good light air performance. You haven''t stipulated a budget or how you will use the boat besides needing to "sleep two people in case we want to do some weekend coastal cruising". If the boat is mainly a daysailor, a couple quick thoughts might be a Oday 22/23,Tanzer 22, Ranger 23, Beneteau First 235, Pearson 23 (catboat), J-24, C&C 24, Farr 727, Cal 25, Catalina 25, and Oday 25.

Of that list, I would lean towards either the Ranger 23 or the Beneteau 235 with young children. You can''t teach them to love sailing too young. If you wanted to do a little racing or cared more about performance I would look for a J-24 or Farr 727.

Good hunting,
Jeff
Old 01-20-2004

maestro is on a distinguished road