Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree9Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2012

Agri is on a distinguished road
considering a ferro cement boat

I've been eyeballing this boat for a few months now. I know nothing about cement boats which makes me really really hesitant. They just recently dropped the price by a considerable amount though. If I go and look at it what are some questions I should ask, or things to lookout for.

Also kind of hoping there are other west coast sailors on here, who might know something about this vessel. From What I've been able to find out she's been around for awhile.

32' Ferro Cement sailboat SUNRISE North Saanich & Sidney , Victoria
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 07-22-2012
Senior Cruiser

sea_hunter is on a distinguished road
Forget it, choose one made of paper mache instead. There's a reason, insurance companies will not cover Ferro boats. Concrete is inherently weak under compressive load and is porous requiring a metal stiffener ie rebar, and a waterproof sealant covering the hull. It's not about the concrete, it's about the prevention of catastrophic failure after the rebar turns to mush.

Last edited by sea_hunter; 07-23-2012 at 05:18 AM.
Old 07-22-2012

saillife is on a distinguished road
Re: considering a ferro cement boat

I'm not a fan of cement boats. Biggest problem I can think of is fixing any kind of 'ding' in the hull. It's not easy to fix cement. They were big in the late 60's early 70's. I am sure there has to be a reason you don't see them much anymore.
Old 07-22-2012

WanderingStar is on a distinguished road

Well built ferro boats last a long time, and are often low priced. Try looking for a ferrocement boat forum or blog, almost everyone here has fg. Those with experience can tell you what to look for.
Old 07-22-2012
Bombay Explorer 44

TQA is on a distinguished road