Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By Mobnets

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2012

greenwater456 is on a distinguished road
Beneteau 41 vs Jeanneau 41DS

I'm looking to make a purchase of one of the two above boats in the next few weeks.

I am located in Nova Scotia Canada, so the max season is 6 months, and more likely 5 (with a heater).

I am a very experienced and formally trained cruiser.

I am a Marine Surveyor (my business is in the 100m + range; I don't do small craft), so the particulars of Boats are not much of a mystery.

I am looking for some opinions and impressions by members who have any hands on experience with the above two (either / or / both).

I was able to get on the Beneteau 41 and am leaning very heavily towards it based on:

Cockpit Arch providing a better anchorage for Dodger and Bimini
Entry to cabin (easier for the Dog to handle)
Deletion of Teak on the Deck (I don't like the effort)
Third Cabin (Aft cabins are quite bright) - I would order the 3 cabin, two head deep keep option.

I have had a Jeanneau Fantasia 27' since new in 1986, I love the boat and it has been hands down the toughest, least maintenance, and best wearing boat I have ever been on - and that a big reason why I never changed or scaled up. I'm keeping it BTW. My experience with the Jeanneau is why I'm considering it so sincerely in the 41DS model.

The Jeanneau has some nice deck appointments (storage) and the aft cabin size is a plus; and I have had a very positive experience with my current boat.

The technical differences (on paper) between these boats are just about nil for a cruiser - I won't race and I wont sail with a pile of people, I am all about my personal comfort and convenience.