Not a Member? 

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2012

scurvy is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to scurvy
1969 Irwin 27' sloop

Hi everyone.

I have been sailing off and on now for roughly 20 years. I started with a Catalina 34' then a Sabre 28 mk1 and then an Albin Vega 27'. I sold my last boat about 4 years ago and swore I would never own another until it was time to retire...(ever hear that one before?).

Recently, I came upon a situation where a friend of mine would like to give me his 1969 Irwin 27. I know little about them, she is bare bones but seems built like a tank. High cabin top with almost an Alberg look to her minus the sweeping stern.

Her sails are ok...no real appointments below...no electronics, stove...very minimalist and stoic. She is powered by a 9.9 outboard ( not aware of any inboard). Porta potty, and ground tackle. Her rigging and lines are a year old.

One issue he has with her right now is the replacement centerboard. He had one designed by a local woodworker to specs but once in place discovered that the wood they used did not provide enough ballast and is too buoyant and will not drop down.

Should I move forward with this old girl, might any of you have any suggestions on how to cure this centerboard issue? Just bolting steel plates to her is not an option (as was already suggested in another forum). The cb still has to fit back up into the trunk.

As always...thank you in advance for your help, suggestions and any information you might have on this particular model is appreciated!

Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 10-10-2012

Captainmeme is on a distinguished road
Re: 1969 Irwin 27' sloop