Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-30-2012

Mariner62 is on a distinguished road
Changing registered flag from Spain to UK

Hi folks,
I'm a newbie here so please forgive me if I've got this post in the wrong place.

I am about to purchase a sailing yacht in Spain, and want to change the flag to British. Not having done this before, I don't know what I don't know.

So I'm wondering if anyone has any words of wisdom they could share about the pitfalls, hidden costs, dangers etc.

Some details:
The 43ft yacht is 7 years old and is currently lying in Spain and registered in Spain. I am British, and would like to register her in the UK, but leave her in Spain for the time being to do some cruising in the med before returning home. She is VAT paid.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-30-2012

PCP will become famous soon enough
Re: Changing registered flag from Spain to UK

That's easy. Go to a especial agency and they will take care of everything. It will cost you between 3000 and 4000 euros. Most of the money is not for the agency fees but costs referring register and other needed bureaucratic stuff. It can be a Spanish or a British one. Maybe you can take care of that in Gibraltar. I bet that will have several agencies that can do that do that.

But take care, boats to be register with a Spanish flag have to pay a luxury tax and for foreigners living in Spain they force them to pay the tax and have Spanish flag (or they use to do that).

Think well if you are going to live there or just to have there the boat for some time. If you are going to live there it will be better and more hassle free to maintain the Spanish flag.

Regards

Paulo
chucklesR likes this.

Last edited by PCP; 10-30-2012 at 07:46 AM.
Old 10-30-2012

Thanks Paulo,
Without wanting to mention any commercial names on the forum, what would I be looking for in a google search to find such agencies?