Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1615Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-06-2013
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
Re: Pros and cons of steel sailboats

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_H View Post
I think that Brent is raising a very valid point in his comments about distortion of the plates. From my own experiences with welding I am very aware that distortion can be a serious problem especially for the inexperienced welder. From my limited experience I found steel reasonably forgiving. Other metals not so much....In my case about the time that I thought I was a pretty good welder I decided to weld a small SS fitting. A friend let me use his shop during lunch. After carefully shaping the parts, I spent an hour welding them together ending up with a useless pretzel. I made the parts again and went back to my friend who 10-15 min later had made a flawless weldment that just needed to be polished out.

In this case, the good news is that Bob is using a welder who understands aluminum. But it highlights the issue of amateur construction. An amateur with an aptitude for welding might be able to weld up a steel boat with reasonably thick plating, but I seriously think it is far less likely that an amateur can weld up an aluminum boat without a lot more practice and experience than would be easy to acquire as a dilettante.

Jeff
All true, Jeff. But Bob may have pictures somewhere of an aluminum version of the Norseman 447 that was impeccably homebuilt by someone that, AFAIK did not start out as a professional. At a distance one could not tell it wasn't a standard Norseman.. even down to the recessed ports (think how much extra work that must have been...)

Granted on that project you'd be working with heavier material than this beach boat...