Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1636Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-02-2013

Stumble is on a distinguished road
Re: Pros and cons of steel sailboats

I have so many letters after my name my wife likes to play word jumble with them (not really but she could). Frankly the only thing I feel I am a true expert on is the areas of law I practice, and other than a JD, there really isn't any other certification I could get for that.

Frankly I see licenses and degrees as basic competency levels. They are just the minimums needed to work in that field. But they don't speak to the quality of the job they can/will do. Conversely not having them doesn't concern me, but I would need to see a body of work of sufficient size to feel comfortable they know what the heck they are doing.
Faster, AlaskaMC and Brent Swain like this.

Last edited by Stumble; 12-02-2013 at 01:17 PM.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 12-02-2013

mitiempo will become famous soon enough mitiempo will become famous soon enough

Here is a short video about education. Worth watching to the end.

Brent Swain likes this.
Old 12-02-2013
Once known as Hartley18

Classic30 will become famous soon enough Classic30 will become famous soon enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by mitiempo View Post
Who cares what assn they belong to? Their work speaks for itself.
So.. does that mean R.I.N.A and similar naval architecture associations are irrelevant - and always have been?

It's a fair question.
Old 12-02-2013

Quote:
Originally Posted by Classic30 View Post
So.. does that mean R.I.N.A and similar naval architecture associations are irrelevant - and always have been?

It's a fair question.
Not irrelevant but not important in and of itself. I just googled R.I.N.A. and couldn't find a list of working designers that belong. But I know what boats I like and who I would approach if I had the money.
Old 12-02-2013