Like Tree1722Likes
Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2014

NCC320 is on a distinguished road
Re: Pros and cons of steel sailboats

Quote:
Originally Posted by Brent Swain View Post
When I graduated, I began working in steel shops, first as a labourer then as a specilalist, on the brake presss , section rolls, plate rolls, and other machinery. This gave me good, hands on experince on what works on steel and what doesnt, and how steel behaves when worked. During htta time I bought a 36 ft ferro cement hul and finished her. She had a short keel with rudder attached. With my zero expoerinence, I thought she would be a much better boat, with the rudder 6 feet furtehr aft. But considering my zero experience at the time I defered to the exertise of her "world reknown designer "a huge mistake, as time and miles would prove conclusively. I spent al spare time reading everything I couod find on Yacht design.Skenes Elements of Yacht Design, became one of my best sources, altho I learned later, he didnt understand cruising priorities, like directional stability, and solid functional gear , or the amount of gear a cruiser will carry out of necessity.( something many current desingers have no idea of ) Then, after a winter cruising BC, I set sail, at the ripe old age of 23, singlehanded , for New Zealand.
I arived in New Zealand with $5 and 5 lbs of rice. Luckily there was a labour shortage there ( bus scab wages)
I hired on as a labourer at a steel fabricating shop, and at much lower wages I found myself advising thenm on simple solutions to problems which were baffling them which I would quickly come up with simpe solutions to. It clearly showed me the uselessness of the qualifications they had. I decided then and there not to underestimate what I could do.