Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree8Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-14-2013

willykunkle is on a distinguished road
No Sea Trial

Hi folks,

I just went to look at a boat for possible purchase, Mariner 31. Ok shape, but would need at least a moderate amount of work. This is my first boat purchase.

So here's my question, the seller, who is a private broker (the owner is in california), won't allow me to arrange with her a sea trial without making an offer on the boat first. She insists this is the way it works and won't budge. Is this true? This is my first time at this so I don't know, but it just seems a little funny. Doesn't it seem natural that I would want to see how the boat sails before making an offer????
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 01-14-2013

willykunkle is on a distinguished road
Re: No Sea Trial

I should also mention that she insists that the sea trial is on the same day of the survey, and then only. While I agree I would definitely like to have the surveyor onboard for a sea trial, it seems reasonable to want to see how the boat handles before making an offer.
Old 01-14-2013

lajimo is on a distinguished road
No Sea Trial

She is telling you the normal process. Most of the time you can do a visit / inspection but then have to make an offer to proceed to sea trial and survey. You protect yourself by having language in the written offer that gives you the ability to walk away if either the sail or the survey fails to meet your needs.
Old 01-14-2013

Minnewaska will become famous soon enough Minnewaska will become famous soon enough

That is how it works.

For starters, owners don't want to put wear and tear on the boat for tire kickers that just want to sail for an hour. Not saying you are, but they can't know.