SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Review and Purchase Forum (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/)
-   -   Starter Boat on shallow water dock (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-review-purchase-forum/96891-starter-boat-shallow-water-dock.html)

jrach74 02-22-2013 05:26 PM

Starter Boat on shallow water dock

I've been sailing for about 10 years. I sail flying scots on the Potomac River throughout sailing season, have crewed bigger boats in regatas and have chartered hunter 37's on the Chesapeake Bay from time to time. So I'm not a novice sailer, but I'm not a boat owner, or expert sailer by any means. I've now got access to a house on a creek off the Chesapeake with a dock that at low tide has about 18-24 inches of water. There's also the possbility of installing a mooring ball off the dock in the deeper water.

For the purposes of this post, I'm looking for recommendations on good centerboard starter boats that could be kept at the dock and would enable my wife, young son and I to do overnights, and could handle being out on the bay. I've looked online at boats like the Macgregor 25, Oday222, etc, but thought folks here might have some better insights and/or suggestions.

Sea Dawg 02-22-2013 09:26 PM

Re: Starter Boat on shallow water dock

A "Sharpie" seems to be a good choice in your situation. They are especially able to explore parts of the Chesapeake Bay many boats can't enjoy. Here's a good example: View Boat Photos - YachtWorld.com

Waltthesalt 02-22-2013 10:18 PM

You may want to check out the Shallow Water Sailors web site. They specialize in the sharpie type boats like Dovekie and Bay Hen. If a swing keel is ok ubiquitous standard is the Catalina 22 which has been in production since 1968. Solid class development availability. Check out thier class organization web site.

fallard 02-22-2013 11:25 PM