Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree1Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-22-2013

jrach74 is on a distinguished road
Starter Boat on shallow water dock

I've been sailing for about 10 years. I sail flying scots on the Potomac River throughout sailing season, have crewed bigger boats in regatas and have chartered hunter 37's on the Chesapeake Bay from time to time. So I'm not a novice sailer, but I'm not a boat owner, or expert sailer by any means. I've now got access to a house on a creek off the Chesapeake with a dock that at low tide has about 18-24 inches of water. There's also the possbility of installing a mooring ball off the dock in the deeper water.

For the purposes of this post, I'm looking for recommendations on good centerboard starter boats that could be kept at the dock and would enable my wife, young son and I to do overnights, and could handle being out on the bay. I've looked online at boats like the Macgregor 25, Oday222, etc, but thought folks here might have some better insights and/or suggestions.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 02-22-2013

Sea Dawg is on a distinguished road
Re: Starter Boat on shallow water dock

A "Sharpie" seems to be a good choice in your situation. They are especially able to explore parts of the Chesapeake Bay many boats can't enjoy. Here's a good example: View Boat Photos - YachtWorld.com
Old 02-22-2013

Waltthesalt is on a distinguished road

You may want to check out the Shallow Water Sailors web site. They specialize in the sharpie type boats like Dovekie and Bay Hen. If a swing keel is ok ubiquitous standard is the Catalina 22 which has been in production since 1968. Solid class development availability. Check out thier class organization web site.
Cal-29
Old 02-22-2013

fallard is on a distinguished road