MacGregor 36 – Help to find out if it is the right boat for me. - SailNet Community

Search Sailnet:

forums  store  

Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Search SailNet 
Boat Search (new)

Shop the
SailNet Store
Anchor Locker
Boatbuilding & Repair
Charts
Clothing
Electrical
Electronics
Engine
Hatches and Portlights
Interior And Galley
Maintenance
Marine Electronics
Navigation
Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree3Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-29-2013

Breno1 is on a distinguished road
MacGregor 36 – Help to find out if it is the right boat for me.

Hello everyone,

I am looking for my first sailboat (to buy it) and found one that could fit my needs and my budget but since I'm new to sailing I am looking for some advice.

I have a very specific need/want that I expect to find in a boat so because of that I know that it will not be a easy task to find the “right one” but I am sure that trying to gather as much information and suggestions as possible from more "experienced" boat owners/sailors before making a decision will be the best way to go.

I found a MacGregor 36 with an outboard 25hp engine for sale near where I am and it seems to fit my “profile”, but I would appreciate all opinions, especially from MacGregor owners.

Here is what I am looking for:

1) An “easy to handle” cat, that I can go “island hopping” and freediving (diving without tanks) for 3 or 4 days each time.

2) The combination of sailing/motoring is not a problem, actually it is a “plus”;

3) An average “cruising” speed of around 8 – 10 knots;

4) Need a boat to go over shallow reef (Carefully not to damage it, of course);

5) During the day, moving from one dive site to another motoring will be the case;