Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum > Boat Reviews
 Not a Member? 

Boat Reviews This forum has all types of boat reviews. Take a look, Dream, Agree, Dissagree.... but enjoy.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2009

bottleguy is on a distinguished road
Seafarer 26

I'm new to sailing and found an 1984 26' Seafarer thats for sale
I can't find a lot of info on the company, does anyone know about these boats
Are they of solid construction and built to last?
Someone mentioned that the boats built towards the end of the company's existance (mid 80's) were not as good as the earlier ones, Is this true?
Lastly I've heard the boat is "slow as a snail" any truth to this?
I'd appreciate any info (or where to get info) anyone has to offer
Thanks to all in advance
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-02-2009

mitiempo will become famous soon enough mitiempo will become famous soon enough
I don't know much about Seafarer boats as few made it to the west coast. Here is the link to Seafarers forum on Sailboat Owners - it may help.
Brian

Seafarer - SailboatOwners.com
Old 10-02-2009

Northeaster is on a distinguished road
here's a link to another forum thread on the Seafarer 26:

Seafarer 26: Words of Wisdom Sought - Cruisers & Sailing Forums

I am on my 2nd Seafarer, but have only been sailing / working on boats for 4 years. Have done extensive work on mine, so know it well.

Bit of history:

Seafarer Research Center

I am more familiar with the late 70s / early 80 boats / build quality.

Pros:
- solid hand laid hull, by a company that was one of the 1st to work with fiberglass.
- chainplates are through-bolted to thick glass knees, that are part of the hull layup - no wet wood cored knees that most boats face