Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > On Board > Boat Review and Purchase Forum > Boat Reviews
 Not a Member? 

Boat Reviews This forum has all types of boat reviews. Take a look, Dream, Agree, Dissagree.... but enjoy.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2009

webbysboat is on a distinguished road
morgan outislander 416 vs. Gulfstar

This is my first posting as I am new to sailnet. I am about to purchase a liveaboard boat and have narrowed the search down to one of the above boats. I was wondering if anyone had experience with either or both of these boats. I know the outislander is sluggish sail wise, but solidly built. I really don't know much about the Gulfstars. I assume they probably sail better, but are they as well constructed as the OI's.. Any comments greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 10-10-2009

CaptainForce will become famous soon enough
I've been aboard Morgan Out Islands since 1973 (Trivia: an Islander is a different boat & there are no Outislanders). My 41' ketch has served well as a home to raise our two children from infancy to departure as adults. Charlie Morgan stated, " the Morgan Out Island was designed to moter well for the charter trade". The shoal draft and ketch rig limits performance close to the wind and directly downwind, but the vessel sails very well at other points in 15-20 kts winds. We regular cruise from Maine to the Bahamas with great success. There are compromises to all your choices and few right answers.

I also think very well of the gulfstars and in many ways they are similar to the Morgans. 'take care and joy, Aythya crew
Old 10-11-2009

webbysboat is on a distinguished road
Thankyou for the response very helpfull.
Old 10-22-2009
Aupiipii Hunter 45Passage

Aupiipii is on a distinguished road
I was on board of a Morgan 42 ketch and a Gulfstars 45 ketch again.