Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Boat Review and Purchase Forum > Boat Reviews
 Not a Member? 

Boat Reviews This forum has all types of boat reviews. Take a look, Dream, Agree, Dissagree.... but enjoy.

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-27-2010

dennies is on a distinguished road
Question nor'sea 27 vs shannon 28

Hello to all! This is my first time asking a question and I hope you can help me. I have narrowed my search for the boat of my dreams down to the Nor'sea 27 and the Shannon 28. I'm sure either will more than meet my needs, but was wondering if there is any major reason I should pick one over the other. Mainly I would like to know if the decks have any problems with delamination. The Nor'sea has a plywood core and the Shannon, a balsa core. I have read nothing but great things about these boats but, I want the one with the least possible problems. Thanks a lot, Dennie
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 11-27-2010
Just another Moderator

Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about Faster has a spectacular aura about
While both character boats, they seem quite different to me.

The Norsea is, I believe, trailerable so that's an advantage in a tough moorage market providing you have the right vehicle (and a trailer...) but with an aft cabin in a 27 footer, the cockpit will be quite tiny compared to the Shannon.

While they both definitely have the 'look', to me the Shannon is a more classically beautiful boat, and would probably win the 'row away' test.

I was surprised to see the price ranges on YW to be quite similar, from lows in the 30K to highs 60K+. With the Shannon, there seems to be quite a range of layouts and finishes - I think they were semi-custom builds in many cases.