SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

considering a contessa 26

7K views 10 replies 9 participants last post by  asdf38 
#1 ·
i found a completely restored contessa 26 for 22k. I am new to sailing and want to live my lifelong dream of living at sea, and sailing to the caribbean. any thoughts and or recommendations would be awesome:)

#2 ·
here is a list on what work has been done on it. and would you put 22k as the market value for such work ?

* Decks professionally re-cored
* Bottom barrier coated with 5 coats of Interprotect
* Hull, 5 coats of Perfection 2 part polyurethane
* Decks, 3 coats of Perfection 2 part polyurethane
* Rebuilt mast interior support beam
* New teak toe rail and hull to deck joint redone and strengthened
* New teak rudder cap assembly and tiller
* All exterior teak is new (see pictures)
* New Lewmar centre hatch
* New Lexan in all ports
* All deck fittings re-bedded with stainless backer plates
* Interior wood completely replaced including bulkheads
* All cushions replaced with new upholstery and foam
* New Origo gimballed alcohol stove
* New 120 volt shore power system including a new panel
* 12 volt system: 2 new DC panels, new marine grade wiring, two recent 12V batteries and built in battery charger
* LED navigation and interior lighting

* All new electronics: Raymarine VHF, speed, depth, and autopilot ST2000

* Plumbing-All new items: bronze seacocks, hoses, stainless steel sink, Fyn Spray faucet, manual and electric bilge pumps
* All new standing and running rigging, turn buckles, and SS chain plates
* New Harken traveller and mainsheet system
* New double life lines
* Custom bow roller
* New Harken #32 two speed self tailing winches