SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Boat Reviews (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-reviews/)
-   -   Southerly 32 Owners Feedback? (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/boat-reviews/79414-southerly-32-owners-feedback.html)

TheCruisingKitty 10-03-2011 04:14 PM

Southerly 32 Owners Feedback?

I'd be very interested to hear opinions from anyone who owns/owned a Southerly 32 - or any kind of Southerly. Or has sailed on one.

I checked the 'Boat Reviews' section, but none. Did find an article from Practical Boat Owner Mag that was good.

How well has the swing keel worked for you?

Do you really run them up on the sand (as in the Practical Boat Owner Mag picture)? Is there something they've added to protect the bottom from being ground out?

(I'm new to Sailnet, so apologies if I am posting in the wrong place. If so, please direct me to the right place. Thanks in advance.)

DRFerron 10-03-2011 06:38 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by TheCruisingKitty (Post 782256)
I'd be very interested to hear opinions from anyone who owns/owned a Southerly 32 - or any kind of Southerly. Or has sailed on one.
Do you really run them up on the sand (as in the Practical Boat Owner Mag picture)?

I don't own one, nor have I sailed in one. I do, however, love the Distant Shores series which follows the travels of Paul and Cheryl Shard. The Canadian couple has owned the Southerly 42 and currently has the Southerly 49. In the Bahamas episodes they did indeed beach the boat. One of the episodes spent some time demonstrating the beaching capabilities. They seem to love the boat and wrote extensively about it in their blog. They usually return to North America and do the boat show circuit and you can board their boat. I went aboard when they were in Annapolis a few years ago with the 42.

Somehow, after they traded the 42 (which they owned for a year before moving up to the 49), it ended up in my marina in the Chesapeake for a week or so.

PCP 10-03-2011 07:13 PM