Search Sailnet:

 forums  store  


Quick Menu
Forums           
Articles          
Galleries        
Boat Reviews  
Classifieds     
Blogs               
Boat Search (new)




Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Buying a Boat
User Name
Password
 Not a Member? 


Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 Like this article?  Digg It!  or   Bookmark it!
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2008
xort's Avatar
xort xort is offline
Goin Mobile
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lake St. Clair, Mi
Posts: 2,136
Rep Power: 4
xort has a spectacular aura aboutxort has a spectacular aura about
boatshed.com

Anybody ever heard of this brokerage?
I've been watching a certain model 80's vintage boat for a while now. Suddenly today a new version shows up on yachtworld represented by boatshed and offer pending already.
In order to see pictures of the boat, you have to register with boatshed. They brand themselves as a different kind of brokerage.
Something seems amiss.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2008
sailingdog's Avatar
sailingdog sailingdog is offline
Telstar 28
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: New England
Posts: 27,075
Rep Power: 5
sailingdog is a jewel in the roughsailingdog is a jewel in the roughsailingdog is a jewel in the rough
Xort-

There was a post or two about how Boatshed.com was a scam about a month ago. I don't know whether that post was valid or genuine...but that was one of the claims.
__________________
Sailingdog

Telstar 28
New England

You know what the first rule of sailing is? ...Love. You can learn all the math in the 'verse, but you take
a boat to the sea you don't love, she'll shake you off just as sure as the turning of the worlds. Love keeps
her going when she oughta fall down, tells you she's hurting 'fore she keens. Makes her a home.

—Cpt. Mal Reynolds, Serenity (edited)

If you're new to the Sailnet Forums... please read this POST.

Still—DON'T READ THAT POST AGAIN.

Last edited by sailingdog : 04-15-2008 at 07:42 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2008
xort's Avatar
xort xort is offline
Goin Mobile
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Lake St. Clair, Mi
Posts: 2,136
Rep Power: 4
xort has a spectacular aura aboutxort has a spectacular aura about
SD
All I found was a comment that they are Euro based. Do I need better search skills?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2008
camaraderie's Avatar
camaraderie camaraderie is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: NC
Posts: 11,203
Rep Power: 9
camaraderie has a spectacular aura aboutcamaraderie has a spectacular aura aboutcamaraderie has a spectacular aura about
Xort...they have a different approach, perhaps due to Euro base and francise nature of the operation...You can view the pix after registering...just give a phony name and e-mail...no checking.
__________________
Tayana 52 Ketch
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-09-2008
lisa1944red lisa1944red is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
Rep Power: 0
lisa1944red is on a distinguished road
Boatshed.com

Hi there,

Boatshed.com is not new, they have been trading since 1999. They now have 62 offices in UK, USA, Europe and Australia. I can assure you they are a bona fide company why not check it out or give them a call +44 2392 523992. They have 1,920 boats listed for sale and over 200,000 registered customers - so hardly a scam site.

If you are looking to buy or sell a boat it is well worth checking them out.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Add to My Yahoo!         
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0 RC8
(c) Sailnet 2000-2006