SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Cal (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cal/)
-   -   Question re: Cal T-4 with rotted plywood under the deck (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/cal/57321-question-re-cal-t-4-rotted-plywood-under-deck.html)

BC2316 08-22-2009 11:58 AM

Question re: Cal T-4 with rotted plywood under the deck

My Cal T-4 has wet and rotted plywood in the ceiling of the cabin. I cut an inspection hole through the thin fiberglass covering the bottom side of the ceiling and found the plywood comes out in shreds. I pulled enough away to expose the fiberglass of the top deck. Can the plywood be replaced from inside the cabin or does the top deck need to be removed? I'm pretty competent with home repairs but I'm new to boat repair. Any advice on the best way to proceed with this repair would be appreciated.

coldsteel 09-14-2009 02:55 PM

Have not done that repair

It is good to hear from a fellow T4 owner. I am repairing my 72 Cal T4 but my deck is in good shape. I did have to do some repair around the hatch where the plywood was coming away from the fiberglass deck but that only took some sealant and a few clamps. Where are you located? I am in Ewa Beach, HI with my boat at Rainbow Bay Marina Pearl Harbor.

Bonden 11-07-2009 11:40 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by BC2316 (Post 515857)
My Cal T-4 has wet and rotted plywood in the ceiling of the cabin. I cut an inspection hole through the thin fiberglass covering the bottom side of the ceiling and found the plywood comes out in shreds. I pulled enough away to expose the fiberglass of the top deck. Can the plywood be replaced from inside the cabin or does the top deck need to be removed? I'm pretty competent with home repairs but I'm new to boat repair. Any advice on the best way to proceed with this repair would be appreciated.