• 1 Post By krisscross
  • 1 Post By sharkbait
  • 2 Post By RainDog
  • 1 Post By miatapaul
  • 1 Post By Tim R.

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 01-26-2016 Thread Starter

Another Caliber Question...

I'm hoping to get some feedback from folks who own or have experience with Caliber boats. I've done a LOT of reading and I'm looking very hard at the Caliber boats, primarily b/c of how seaworthy they are supposed to be and how they are equipped.

As some of you may know, I'm a newbie that's seriously considering jumping both feet first into sailing. I've been doing a WHOLE lot of research and reading and I have a couple of questions.

From what I've been able to gather, 40' is about as big as most folks want to go if they are going to be singlehanding. That being said, as far as seaworthiness goes, the larger the boat the better. It's also my understanding that larger boats have a little more comfortable "ride", not to mention more living space.

I've been looking at the Caliber 40's and the Caliber 47's. The 47 looks like a much more comfortable boat for living aboard and I would imagine it would handle rough conditions better. I do plan to do some open ocean passages once I gain the necessary experience...so here's my question:

Is a 47' boat (the Caliber in particular) exponentially harder to sail singlehanded than a 40' boat??? Is it doable for someone who puts in the necessary time to learn what they are doing? How much harder would it be to sail a Caliber 47' boat, singlehanded over the Caliber 40???.

If it's doable, I'd like to err on the side of the bigger boat for the reasons mentioned above. I will be living on this boat for at least the next couple of years...so comfort/room/seaworthiness are very important things to take into consideration.