Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Destinations > Caribbean > Caribbean Islands
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-14-2010

EvanstonJohn is on a distinguished road
USCG National Vessel Movement Center requirements

I am sailing from Tortola to USVI/St. in a month on a bareboat Sunsail charter with one other person, and I am a US resident. I want to spend several days in St. John before sailing back to the BVI.

If I understand correctly, in addition to the in-person entry requirements at Immigration and Customs in Cruz Bay, I also need to file a USCG NVMC Notice of Arrival/Departure no more than 96 hours before I arrive, and I also must specify my ports of call.

My first question is - Is this correct?

Also, assuming that it is right, if I want to hop around St. John for several days, do I really need to list different "ports" on the notice or can I just list Cruz Bay or Caneel Bay or whatever as my one port? ( I read the regulations as actually requiring me to list every single place I intend to anchor or moor - agh.)

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 04-14-2010

Freesail99 will become famous soon enough
Send a message via Yahoo to Freesail99
Shouldn't Sunsail have all that information about customs available if you are bareboating with them? I would ask them.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 04-14-2010

Zanshin is on a distinguished road
I've done the BVI - USVI and back trip several times and have never heard of the NVMC notice of arrival/departure being applied. Many charter boats do this trip daily.