SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Catalina 27

33K views 80 replies 38 participants last post by  norahs arc 
#1 ·
Why is there no forum for the C-27, the volume of these boats built should provide a lot of activity?

#6 ·
C-27 Forum

Ok, so how do we get one started? I am sure we have a range of skills and interests. Right now, I am trying to figure out my reefing system. I have not needed it even up to 18 K with tall rig. I just depower via traveler and the main sheet and furl the genoa. Seems like I am missing a forward block on a single line system. No info in the manual. Yes, new boat this year and I am still learning its quirks. Milwaukee based.

#10 ·
Would enjoy a C-27 discussion page

My Wife and I are fairly new to sailing and recently purchased the fourth from the last C27 ever built. I'd enjoy trading lessons learned from more seasoned C27 owners. She sails nicely and needs little in terms of updating but it would be great to hear from you and others about what you have done to keep your boat in tip top shape.

Regards,

Paul

#12 · (Edited)
Hello everyone, I'm new to Sailnet as of TODAY. I have a 1973 Catalina 27 (hull # 863) "Orion" and absolutely love it. I'm homeported out of San Diego and have had her for 3 years. I have a 5 and 8 year old and it's all the boat we need for now. We do the Beercan's every summer and have been down to Mexico and out to Catalina Island several times. It's a GREAT little boat and it's good to find a C-27 community.

Brooks :)

#15 · (Edited)
VHF Coaxial Cable Suggestion

I would suggest Times Wire & Cable LMR-240 Ultra Flex.
Here is one source if you google LMR-240 you will find others

---http://www.universal-radio.com/catalog/cable/3605.html]LMR240 Flex Coaxial Cable---
(remove the three hyphens at each end)