SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Bigger Boat

2K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  Sapperwhite 
#1 ·
I own a 17' ODay Daysailer that I have been sailing weekly during the season for last four years. Last year we chartered a 28' Bristol Channel Cutter in the San Juans and after a couple days it was like I had been sailing a boat that large for years.
This Year we are looking at going with a 34 footer and I was wondering what sort of issues I might have to deal with other than the extra 6' when maneuvering in tight spaces.

Thanks,

Andy

#2 ·
What kind of 34 footer? Most modern 34s (say Catalina) will out-maneuver the BC cutter by a huge amount. It'll be like getting out of a 67 Pontiac wagon and into a GoKart.

If you're thinking of another full keel/heavy displacement 34 footer, then you've got more momentum, and probably/possibly no improvment in close quarters maneuverability, just a heavier similar boat.

If indeed you are going to a more modern design you will be amazed at the difference, esp in reverse.

#3 ·
It is an 82 BCC and the 34 footer is a 2000 Hunter.
The one thing I will miss is the comments we got when we Tied up for the night. We would get a group around the boat wanting to take a look while ignoring the sleaker newer boats that were in our group. It was a fun boat sail, but to small for the extra people we are taking this year.

#4 · (Edited)
The BCC has an LOA of 37.8 feet and an LOD of 28, thats why shes called a 28. If you are talking about moving about in a marina, the Hunter will probably be easier because it is actually shorter and has a lot less keel. If you know how to use prop walk though you can make a BCC turn 360 in an area a few feet longer than her waterline, but you have to know how to use prop walk to do that.