Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Chartering
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-08-2009

mickeyd is on a distinguished road
Where Is a Good Place to Bareboat in August?

I'm a beginner and was thinking of BVI but possible bad weather is a concern. Does anyone have a recommendation for a good place for a beginner to go in August? I'm pretty flexible travel wise. Thanks.
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-08-2009

imagine2frolic is on a distinguished road
Friends love the San Juans in the N.W. Pacific, or are you looking for tropical? If so then below the hurricane zone in the Caribbean. Check out the South Pacific, Tahiti, Tonga, etc. etc.......i2f

BORROWED, No single one of us is as smart as all of us!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Old 07-08-2009

night0wl is on a distinguished road
My vote...(if you can handle the heat in August)...Grenada/Grenadines. For Grenada, until the wicked seasons of 2004/2005, they were considered outside of the Hurricane belt...then in 2 successive seaons, they were pounded by named storms hit (Ivan and Emily). Basically, after Ivan the whole island was leveled.

So, now insurance considers Grenada in the belt, and cruisers have to scurry to Trinidad to keep their storm coverage. But, before 2004/2005....it had been FORTY YEARS since the last named storm hit them.

In any case, I'd use this little statistical quirk to my advantage...as its still a cheap flight from San Juan (or if you're lucky - Miami) to go to Grenada in the off-season (now through November).

Good luck finding a charter equipped with a Gen-Set to power that A/C though. PHEW, it was 99 today in Fort Lauderdale...I cant imagine that equatorial sun right now.
Old 07-08-2009