Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > General Interest Forums > Chartering
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-11-2011

staszekfc is on a distinguished road
Bareboat charters in Brazil

I would like to ask you for your opinions/experiences about bareboat chartering in Brazil and necessary experience levels.

I consider myself a reasonably experienced sailor (I had my own 37ft Dufour in Lake Michigan and two years ago I chartered a 36ft beneteau at the BVI which was great). However I have no real blue water experience and as I plan to bring my family along I'm not looking for too exciting conditions. As I cannot find a lot of information on Brazil as a charter destination I wonder if it is a good idea to go there.

Reason I look at Brazil as destination is that I recently moved to Buenos Aires (yes I had to sell my boat ...) and Brazil is the closest destination where I expect to have nice weather during the coming months.

What do you think? Is Brazil a good idea or should I fly a couple of hours more and head to the BVI again?

Thanks for your help!

Staszek
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-20-2011

copacabana is on a distinguished road
Staszec,

Try googling "charter, Angra" and you'll get a list of charter companies that operate out of Angra dos Reis in the state of Rio. This area, which covers Paraty, Angra dos Reis and Ilha Grande is a great place to charter, with hundreds of small islands, sheltered waters and beautiful beaches. There are many places to go, great food and nice people. Just be aware that Brazil is not a cheap destination. I can't recommend any charter company, but if you want I can ask around to get a recommendation. I keep my boat in Ubatuba, which is not too far from Angra. We are heading into fall in the southeast of Brazil right now, but the water temp last weekend in Ubatuba was 27C/80F and the day temps over 30C!

Abrazo.
Old 04-21-2011

adanguy is on a distinguished road