Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Chartering
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-26-2013
SailAway

maccauley123 is on a distinguished road
Bahama Charter Suggestions

My family will be chartering in the Abacos in the Bahamas next June or July 2014. We are working through Ed Hamilton to help us choose the charter boat and they have made some suggestions for us. We definitely want to go with a cat since there will be 9 of us (4 adults, 4 young adults and 1 6 year old) to give us enough room.

At this point we are trying to decide on a boat and charter company. Does anyone have any experience with either Dream or Sunsail charter companies in the Abacos? The boats that have been recommended to us are a Leopard 444 and a Lagoon 45 so does anyone have any recommendations for either of these boats? Interested in any info on the quality of the accommodations and the sailing characteristics of each of the boats. I am new to cats having sailed monohulls so any thoughts on which would provide the best overall performance and ease the transition.

While I am at it if anyone has any recommendations on areas that we must be sure to visit or areas to avoid I am open and welcome any suggestions.

Get out there!

Saco Bay, Maine
1971 Ericson 29
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 07-07-2013

yachtguy is on a distinguished road
Re: Bahama Charter Suggestions

First, Sunsail is uniformly good in the Abacos and it shares the same base in Marsh Harbor with The Moorings, which you should also look at. The Leopard 444 is called the Sunsail 444 and it’s a great boat for the Abacos with shallow draft and a really nice “front porch” cockpit that cools the whole boat without using the air conditioning. Depending on the age of the young adults, there are two forepeak berths with separate hatches that give them independence. If there is a choice and the price difference isn’t frightening, I always try to get the Premier Plus boats which are a year old.