Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Destinations > Chesapeake / Central US east coast > Chesapeake Bay
 Not a Member? 

Like Tree12Likes

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2013

FlyingDutchman is on a distinguished road
2 last minute questions

next week I am bareboating a Beneteau 34 for 4 days out of Annapolis with with my 2 kids (11 and 13). My adult company fell through so I will basically be single handing the boat.
it is a Beneteau 34 with in mast furling main and a furling jib so it sounds very doable.

Even though I have plenty of sailing experience my self on 30-40ft as an owner before I got married and as crew afterwards. I have never single handed a boat (with 2 kids)

my goal is to have the kids really like it and learn so I can do more of these trips with them. I got them some sailing books for kids so they are learning the terms already.

so here are my two questions:
1 - Any tips for sailing this boat single handed with the two kids (especially when it comes to docking)

2 - Any great destinations around Annapolis for me and my crew? ( I am already reviewing the eatery sticky)
what times should I make sure I get to the dock or mooring so I get a good spot (and avoid possible late afternoon thunderstorms)

thanks for any advice that might be coming my way
Marc
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-23-2013

chris_gee is on a distinguished road
Re: 2 last minute questions

In general, singlehanding or with novice crew I find it easier to do the docking etc by myself and just ask them to keep out of the way.
Otherwise if you want them to assist not only do you need to run through the procedure ie brief them but practise it.
I find people often go into a brain freeze state particularly when you are asking them to do something that needs to be done now, and you spend more time watching etc than it is worth.