Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Destinations > Chesapeake / Central US east coast > Chesapeake Bay
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-05-2007

otighearnaigh is on a distinguished road
Picking Up a Mooring in Naptown

I hate to admit it but I've been sailing for about 18 years off and on and have never picked up a mooring...ever! In a couple of months I will be going down to Annapolis and will either tie up in ego alley or pick up a mooring. I know the moorings are first come, first serve; however, what is the procedure for the actual picking up of a mooring?

Dave
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 04-05-2007
moderate?

camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough camaraderie is a jewel in the rough
Here's a link for the harbormaster:
Harbor Master's Office

If you are talking about the physical act of picking up an empty mooring:
1. Approach the mooring from a downwind position.
2. Station a bow-person with boathook on the pointy end of the boat.
3. Head straight for the mooring ball at dead slow and arrange stop/left/right signals in advance with bow person.
4. Goal is not to run past the ball but to put your bow at dead stop right on it so that the bow man can hook the mooring line and affix it to a bow cleat. Be prepared to give a short burst of forward power if the boat starts to drift backwards before the line is secured.

If the bowman cannot get the line on board tell him to release it and simply let the boat drift backwards until clear and circle for another go at it. You don't want to try to force things and you don't want to run over the mooring line with your prop...so let it drift back.