SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Chesapeake Bay (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/chesapeake-bay/)
-   -   Need some immediate marina advice - Urgent (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/chesapeake-bay/42099-need-some-immediate-marina-advice-urgent.html)

alan_21_us 04-09-2008 07:39 AM

Need some immediate marina advice - Urgent

Hi - I am in the midst of looking for a marina in the upper chesapeake bay. I live outside of Phila and do not want a very long commute, but want nice sailing grounds.

I need to know which marina and rivers you would recommend. The draft on the boat is 3' 10" with the CB up.

All help is welcome. I am new to sailing in this area.

Alan

daydreams 04-09-2008 08:19 AM

Georgetown / Galena on the Sassafras is nice.

SailorMitch 04-09-2008 09:37 AM

Tolchester, or Rock Hall area on Eastern Shore. Middle River (Bowley's is one) on the western shore.

SVAuspicious 04-09-2008 11:50 AM

Lots of Philly people in Rock Hall. Traffic is usually better getting to the Eastern Shore than the West side.

teshannon 04-09-2008 04:50 PM

I spent last season at Skipjack Cove Marina on the Sassafras River. Georgetown Yach Basin is right there also. Both are very nice full service marinas. It takes about 1 3/4 hours to get there from Philly and the traffic is never bad. The problem is that it takes an hour to motor out to the bay and once you get there you'll find it a bit narrrow and little wind in July and August. I think, as was recommended above, Rock Hall is a better choice. It will add about 1/2 hour each way to your driving time but you'll be on the bay quicker and see more wind. There is Haven Harbor and a few other marinas at Rock Hall. They may be full so you need to contact them pretty quickly. Good luck.

alan_21_us 04-09-2008 08:12 PM

thanks