Other Items
Plumbing and Pumps
Rigging
Safety
Sailing Hardware
Trailer & Watersports
Clearance Items

Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Destinations > Chesapeake / Central US east coast > Chesapeake Bay
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-25-2011

datswite is on a distinguished road
Kinsale to Annapolis (and back again).

Hey, all! I'm fairly new to sailing; this is my second season. We keep our 27' Hunter at Port Kinsale on the Yeocomico River. I've had a variety of experiences on the water to include some really nasty blows near Smith Point. Terrifying and thrilling at the same time.

We've made several 3-4 day trips around the tidal Potomac to include: Tangier Island, Great Wicomico, Little Wicomico, Breton Bay, Smith Creek, etc. However, we're looking for something more grand.

We have 7 days available beginning August 31st. We hope to sail from our home port to Annapolis and back. I'm looking for some suggestions/advice on the trip. Given favorable conditions, we hope to make it to Solomons on day 1 (34 miles), Rhode River on Day 2 (40 miles), and Spa Creek on Day 3 (12.5 miles). If it goes as planned, we'll have an extra day to make up lost time.

Assuming that the wind cooperates, does this sound reasonable?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 07-25-2011

kd3pc is on a distinguished road
a leisurely romp up the bay for sure...Piece of cake and if the weather blows you are in good places to hang out.

By then I hope the heat/humidity is about gone.

Enjoy and relax, should be a trip to remember
Old 07-25-2011
1934 Chickering

deniseO30 will become famous soon enough deniseO30 will become famous soon enough