SailNet Community banner
  • SailNet is a forum community dedicated to Sailing enthusiasts. Come join the discussion about sailing, modifications, classifieds, troubleshooting, repairs, reviews, maintenance, and more!

Crossing the sandbar at Harrington Harbor North, Deale

6K views 24 replies 12 participants last post by  arf145 
#1 ·
I'm new to the Harrington Harbor North marina and have seen a few sailboats crossing the sandbar.

I've got 4' of draft

Does anyone here cross it regularly or confidently with a draft equal or greater than mine?

#3 ·
I'm new to the Harrington Harbor North marina and have seen a few sailboats crossing the sandbar.

I've got 4' of draft

Does anyone here cross it regularly or confidently with a draft equal or greater than mine?
We recently relocated to Shipwright from HHS. We have friends at North that say it can be crossed with more that 4' of keel, but we haven't tried it yet. We're hoping for an opportunity to follow them across the first time we attempt it.

As I understand, the cut is close to the breakwater leaving Tracy's/Rockhold not further towards the 1 as you might expect.

#6 ·
We've done it once or twice on my buddy's C&C35 MkIII (with centerboard). I think he draws close to 4' with the board up, and he only does it at high tide.

I think it's safe to give it a try, but the first few times especially, I'd proceed slowly, closely monitor the depth finder, and only attempt it at high tide.

#7 ·
I draw about 4 ft and have thought about crossing the bar, but I prefer less public spots to run aground. ;)
I've thought about trying at the flood side of low tide (waiting to float off, rather than getting hooked up to a red boat with flashing lights, and drug off the bar) and dropping waypoints across, but haven't quite gotten the balls to do it.
Maybe this year. If you see a PSC 31 out on the bar for a lenghty time, we're just cleaning the bottom!:D

#8 ·