SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Chesapeake Bay (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/chesapeake-bay/)
-   -   Crossing the sandbar at Harrington Harbor North, Deale (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/chesapeake-bay/87422-crossing-sandbar-harrington-harbor-north-deale.html)

sccndc 05-15-2012 02:40 PM

Crossing the sandbar at Harrington Harbor North, Deale

I'm new to the Harrington Harbor North marina and have seen a few sailboats crossing the sandbar.

I've got 4' of draft

Does anyone here cross it regularly or confidently with a draft equal or greater than mine?

jsaronson 05-15-2012 03:09 PM

Re: Crossing the sandbar at Harrington Harbor North, Deale

I've got 6.5 foot draft and would not try it again with mine, but you should be able to clear it.

PalmettoSailor 05-15-2012 03:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by sccndc (Post 871441)
I'm new to the Harrington Harbor North marina and have seen a few sailboats crossing the sandbar.

I've got 4' of draft

Does anyone here cross it regularly or confidently with a draft equal or greater than mine?

We recently relocated to Shipwright from HHS. We have friends at North that say it can be crossed with more that 4' of keel, but we haven't tried it yet. We're hoping for an opportunity to follow them across the first time we attempt it.

As I understand, the cut is close to the breakwater leaving Tracy's/Rockhold not further towards the 1 as you might expect.

sccndc 05-15-2012 04:24 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by PalmettoSailor (Post 871452)
We recently relocated to Shipwright from HHS. We have friends at North that say it can be crossed with more that 4' of keel, but we haven't tried it yet. We're hoping for an opportunity to follow them across the first time we attempt it.

As I understand, the cut is close to the breakwater leaving Tracy's/Rockhold not further towards the 1 as you might expect.