SailNet Community

SailNet Community (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/)
-   Columbia & Coronado (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/columbia-coronado/)
-   -   Columbia 32' 6.9 M (http://www.sailnet.com/forums/columbia-coronado/18575-columbia-32-6-9-m.html)

scurvy 07-26-2006 07:18 PM

Columbia 32' 6.9 M

Hey there,

I have always been a bit stuffy when it comes to sailboats and have typically sided with the East Coast sailboats (past owner of a Sabre/Cape Dory). My wife and I find ourselves back on the market with two more children and different needs. Long story short...

I have found a couple of these Columbia's for sale and they look like very nice boats. I have no experience with Columbia, I have never sailed one and have only seen a couple on various moorings throughout my sailing carreer. Can anyone help me with the pros and cons of the Columbia's? Where do these boats shine and where do they falter? Recommended for coastal cruising? etc... Any info would be helpful in our search for our next boat.

Many thanks!
Chris & Kerin

DynaMeme 07-26-2006 09:33 PM

the 7.6, 8.3, 8.7, 9.6, 10.7

These were a family of boats developed by Australian designer Alan Payne in the mid 70's. We owned an 8.7 for 15 years. These are East Coast boats by the way. Built in Chesapeake Virginia before Columbia sold the molds to Hughes and Hughes then sold them to Aura.

The 9.6 is an outlier. The other boats were sold as "wide-body super cruisiers" and as such were one of the first series of production boats where a boat builder went to a designer and asked for something new (as oppsoed to a designer trying to shop his designs). The 9.6 on the other hand has a lot of hull form commonality with Payne's Austrailian 12 meter Gretel.