Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Crew Wanted/Available
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-15-2009

dtamburin is on a distinguished road
Need Captain to move a boat from Island City to Marlboro NY

Hello,

I need a Captain to move my boat from Island City NY to Marlboro NY (up the hudson river). I'd do it myself but I'm not keen on sailing through Hell's gate and NY harbor as I've never done that before. The boat is a 30' Catalina, if your interested send me an email to: jarkari at yahoo.com with an approximate price.

Thank you,
davidt
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 08-15-2009

NautiG is on a distinguished road
David,

It's really not that bad a trip. Ok, maybe there is a little current through Hell Gate, and a bit of traffic in NY harbor. But seeing Manhattan from the water on your own boat is not to be beat. At the very least, you should go along for the ride with an experienced captain.

I bet if you asked here or around your marina, you could find someone who has done the trip a few times who would be willing to go with you for free. Just make sure you have a dependable engine and time the tides. You'll be fine. There's a first time for everything!

Scott
Gemini Catamaran Split Decision

Last edited by NautiG; 08-15-2009 at 10:50 AM.
Old 08-15-2009

gtod25 is on a distinguished road
People pay money for that sort of trip.....

Seriously, I've transited NY harbor twice. Fabulous experience, surprisingly easy once you do a little preplanning (I overplanned/studied for the first transit expecting it to be like that old "Frogger" game of a frog crossing a highway, with me as the frog).

Work the tides for Hells gate and its a blast. Stay tucked in on the appropriate side and give way to pretty much everything. As per the previous post take an experienced crew with you if you can. Unless you are an absolutely beginner at the boating game its a trip not to be missed.