Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Crew Wanted/Available
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-27-2009

DrifterJill is on a distinguished road
Crewing advice needed. Please!

Hi all from sunny Solent, UK.

I've already introduced myself as a newbie on the relevant thread and would like some advice from more seasoned sailors.

As a female the wrong side of 40, I'm new to sailing but have taken to it like a duck to water (pun intended) . I'd like to now improve my sailing skills and experience and combined with my cookery and hospitality skills, move into the field of stewarding/crewing on yachts. I'm not expecting to get straight onto the huge superyachts but maybe sail on the smaller charter boats that are more informal.

Am I being a little over ambitious? I'm planning on doing a marine hospitality course after gaining more sailing quals but, as the cost of courses in the UK runs into thousands I didn't want to invest in that only to find I'm not what people would be looking for. (Can't think why though! I'm lovely! )

So the question is, what kind of work/ training/ experience would you guys recommend for a stewarding position for someone in my position?

Thanks all!
Reply With Quote Share with Facebook
Old 10-27-2009

sailorgirl60 is on a distinguished road
Hi Drifter-

I have similar ambitions, I'm 50.

This is my limited experiance: