Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Crew Wanted/Available
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-19-2010

amjones is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to amjones
How do I get started? Please help!

I'll start of by saying this. I'm very green to sailing but have a burning desire to sail different parts of the world and very eager to learn the ropes! I'm a 32 year old Chef by trade and now financially independent enough to join a crew and embark on the adventure of a lifetime. Yes I know not everyone is looking to bring someone aboard who doesn't already know how to sail but you've got to start somewhere.

I'm very hard working, pay close attention to detail and can get along with most anybody. I'm asking for honest advise from someone on this forum to point me in the right directions or let me know how to get started?

Best regards,

Andy

Last edited by amjones; 08-19-2010 at 02:48 PM. Reason: Grammatical error
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 08-19-2010

ShockValue is on a distinguished road
You just took the first step Hopefully somebody will see this message and decide they wouldn't mind a rookie on board that can cook.

I have no idea if people would be willing to take a rookie around the world on the first run, but I put out a similar post just a few weeks ago and got 4 seperate invitations to crew "part time" or "one shot" in my area.

Now, the captains of these boats were'nt going to take me around the world, but if they're willing to let me on board and help and learn, that's all I really wanted.

Hope you find something!

My advert: http://www.sailnet.com/forums/crew-w...estern-wa.html
Old 08-19-2010

radioguy is on a distinguished road
It's fantastic that you can cook! Well, not only "can cook" but you are a chef. That's a very useful trade for a boat! Do I want to eat a summer sausage or some real food? I'll go with the chef!