Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Crew Wanted/Available
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-19-2011
Soldier/Sailor

kr3728 is on a distinguished road
Searching for Water in the Deserts of Afghanistan

LOOKING FOR A BOAT: MED OR ATLANTIC, FEB 12

We sail as a couple, but I'll lead off with myself: I am a professional soldier and lifelong sailor. The two, obviously, do not always mix. Particularly now, since I am in Afghanistan.

My specialties as a soldier do contribute to my suitability as a crewmember or mate. I am an Infantry officer (the first half of my career, which means I'm handy with making due with whatever is at hand after a decade outdoors and I don't mind privation overmuch) and Strategist (the second decade, decidedly more physically comfortable). But I am also an Academic, a historian by education, having taught at West Point, Georgetown, and George Mason. I have also written a few books along the way, and a few hundred articles/reviews/essays. So, just about anywhere you might want to head, I can deliver (free of charge!) graduate school level lectures or dinner-table repartee, or just answer a query about the localities. (Caveat: Mostly military history, mind you.) I can also be quiet as a mouse, buried in a book or enjoying the scenery.

My wife is an American diplomat, fluent in French (my French is "passable"), Urdu, Hindi, and conversational Dari. She is also a writer in her own right. She has come to sailing later, but is learning quickly, as she does everything.

She and I are both ASA (American Sailing Association, equivalent to RYC) keelboat and bareboat certified. I have a few thousand miles of open-ocean experience, and she has several hundred miles as mate in coastal waters. (We sail together, as we can, but I am also available with advanced notice for longer-distance deliveries.) I am 44, she is 33. We are both fit, low maintenance, and professional.