Advertise Here

Go Back   SailNet Community > Out There > Crew Wanted/Available
 Not a Member? 

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-30-2011
1973 Morgan O/I 33

bjslife is on a distinguished road
Wanted Captain or crew to hire Oregon southbound

Im looking for a captain or crew to help out sailing my 1973 Morgan O/I 33' from Coos Bay Oregon to the Channel Islands around mid October. I am very new to sailing but have my 101,103,104 ASA but have not sailed the Oregon to California coast and would like someone or a few aboard that have to give advice and to help out. There will be myself 42,girlfriend 42(has no experience sailing) and 2 small dogs and we smoke cigarettes. Just a heads up so your not offended. Serious sailors only NO DRUGS! and drink only at anchor. Also advice in outfitting my boat for the cruise. If weather permits it will just be a 15-25 or so miles out and straight down with a few stops. Thank you

Last edited by bjslife; 08-30-2011 at 04:18 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message Share with Facebook
Old 08-30-2011

eteach is on a distinguished road
Bjslife,

Check out the two recent www threesheetsnw com articles regarding sailing south from the PNW. I have made the trip from Seattle to So Cal 7 or 8 times and the conditions discussed in those articles are typical between June and September. The last time I sailed south in October was significantly more challenging and I will not make that mistake again (sailing south after September). All of my West Coast trips have been in full offshore capable boats larger that 40' with experienced crews of 4 or more.

Have someone experienced in sailing the West Coast check out your boat several weeks in advance of the departure in case some equipment needs upgrading. Rent a EPIRB and be sure to have a good quality working VHF.