Go Back   SailNet Community > Contributing Authors > Cruising Articles
 Not a Member? 

Closed Thread

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-06-2004
Contributing Authors

John Kretschmer is on a distinguished road
The Love of Landfalls

For the author, every landfall is memorable, the good, the bad, and the ugly.
For many years I have made landfalls for a living, and I confess it isnít a bad gig. As a professional sailboat skipper I have delivered hundreds of boats to far-flung quaysides. And while swift sloops, plodding cutters, stout ketches, graceful yawls, and reluctant schooners all run together in my brain like characters in a Garcia Marquez novelóone facet of every voyage remains crystal clearóall the landfalls Iíve made, the good, the bad and, the ugly. For some reason, I never forget a landfall. 

There are few events filled with as much promise as the prospect of making landfall after a long voyage. Of course long is relative and can be defined many ways. Long for me was the 72 days it took to con my diminutive Contessa 32 from Valparaiso, Chile north to the Golden Gate. We were down to the last few cans of provisions, canned asparagus at that, and fairly serious water rationing. It was time to make landfall. Long, however, for a former student of mine, was an eight-hour transit of the Gulf Stream. He whooped and hollered like old Chris Columbus when the spindly tower on South Bimini hove into view, swearing heíd never go to sea again and offering to buy the crew drinks at the Complete Angler once we made it ashore.